ZODML logo

2018 Review: Nigerian Writers and their Awards

By Nkem Egenuka on Fri, 11/01/2019 - 21:39

A lot happened in the literary world in 2018, new voices emerged and old ones remained. Various competitions were held prizes were awarded.

  • Chimamanda won the 2018 Pen Pinter Prize for her writing and activism that has cut across borders.
  • Chinua Ezenwa-Ohaeto won the New Hampshire Institute of Art’s 2018 Award: Narratives in Prose and Poverty; with $100 prize money and $5000 scholarship to study in New Hampshire. He also won the 2018 Castello di Duino Poesia Prize for unpublished Poem, My Home: May a Down bring a new Smile upon it.
  • Abimbola Dare won the 2018 BATH Novel International Prize for emerging unpublished writers, for her book ‘The Girl with the Rounding voice’.
  • Aniete Isong won the Mc Kitterick Prize for his book ‘Radio Sunrise’.
  • The NLNG Prize went to Soji Cole for his book Embers that focuses on lives of internally displaced people’s camps in Northern Nigeria.
  • Uchenna Eze’s The Longest Trial won the ANA Prose Fiction Prize, while the ANA Drama Prize was awarded to Obari Gomba with Guerilla Post.
  • Ayobami Adebayo was longlisted for Dylan Thomas Prize for her novel ‘Stay with Me’.
  • The ANA Poetry Prize went to J.O.J. Nwachukwu-Agbada, author of Bombblast or Breakfast, while the ANA/Abubakar Gimba Prize for Short Stories was won by Sisi Miet Sweet’s Justice Club.
  •  The ANA Prize for Children’s Literature was awarded to Jide Ogunlana’s Primrose and the Kidnappers, while the ANA/NECO Teen Author Prose Prize was won by Ernest Ogunyemi’s Beautiful Things: Stories.
  • The essay, “Nativisation as Style and Identity Marker in Barclays Ayakoroma’s Dance on His Grave by Ebi Yeibo won the ANA/Maria Ajima Prize for Literary Criticism by the panel of judges headed by Prof. Nelson Fashina of the University of Ibadan.
  • The Clock Can’t Jump Through Time by Adeola Adeyemo was shortlisted for the Golden Baobab Prize for Picture Books.
  • The Era of the Afrocubs by Ayo Oyeku was also shortlisted for the Golden Baobab Prize for Early Chapter Books.
  • Nigerian-German writer Efua Traoré was selected as one of the five regional winners for the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for his work ‘True Happiness’.
  • The Beginning of Everything Colourful by Onyeka Nwelue; Hang No Clothes Here by Bolaji Olatunde; The Longest Trial by Uchenna Eze; Absolution by Oreva Ode-Irri and The Return of Half-Something by Chukwudi Eze were shortlisted for 2018 ANA PROSE FICTION PRIZE.
  • The Shortlist for 2018 ANA DRAMA PRIZE were Teeth set on Edge by Akin Bello; Mr. Brother by Achalugo Ezekobe; Guerilla Post by Obari Gomba and Saint Ojedi by Amechi Chiedu Obumse.
  • Justice Club by SasiMietJajja; Things That Start Small But Sweet by Bibi Ukonu and Vacancy for the Post of a Bride by Emmanuel Asika were shortlisted for 2018 ANA/ ABUBAKAR GIMBA PRIZE FOR SHORT STORIES.
  • The shortlist for 2018 ANA Prize for Children’s Literature were Nwauwa: the Girl with big Dreams by Paschal Okeke & Vera O. Chuks-Iwuchukwu; Primrose and the Kidnappers by JideOgunlana and Once Upon a Village by Su’eddie Vershima Agema.
  • ANA/NECO TEEN AUTHOR PROSE PRIZE short list was If You Looked Inside a Girl by Chibundum Kosisochukwu Ndukwe and Tomorrow Brings Beautiful Things: Stories by Ernest Ogunyemi.
  • Nigerians who made it to the shortlist for the Koffi Addo Prize for Women Who Bleed Colours by Ope Adedeji , The Child and its Many Faces by Karis Onyemenam
  • 6th Writivism Short Story Prize Shortlist is out and it features A River Ends in an Ocean by Obinna Jones
  • Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature 2018 shortlist were Servio Gbadamosi’s A Tributary in Servitude, Tanure Ojaide’s Songs of Myself and Harriet Anena’s A Nation in Labour.
  • Michael Emmanuel emerged as winner of the Quramo Writer’s Prize 2018 for his manuscript, Running Waters.
  • The shortlist for Quramo Writers Prize was Achalugo Ezekobe’s Boys on Jumping Trousers; Ani Obiamaka Splendour’s The Girl Who Saw Tomorrow; Chioma Mildred Okonkwo’s All That Glitters; Emmanuel Michael’s Running Waters and Oriasotie Emmanuel Ehimare’s, When Yesterday Saved Tomorrow.
  • Helen Oyeyemi became judge for 2018 Man Booker International Prize.
  • The 3rd Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Non Fiction was judged by Akwaeke Emezi as the chair person


2018 Literary events

  • Ake festival took place for the first in Lagos state in October 2018, with the theme - Fantastical Futures.
  • The 17th Nigeria International Book Fair (NIBF 2018) held from Monday, May 7-12, 2018 at University of Lagos, Akoka, Yaba, Lagos state.
  • Kaduna Book and Arts Festival (KABAFest) held in September, 2018
  • Lagos International Poetry Festival (LIPFest) held from October to November 2018, with the theme- ‘wide awake’. An examination of the “growing importance of vigilance in a post truth era”.
  • Lagos Arts and Book Festival 2018 (LABAF) held in November, 2018
  • Abuja Literary and Arts Festival (ALIFest) held in June, 2018.

About the Author