Discover Nigeria > States > Adamawa State

Adamawa State

state tabs

The state’s name comes from Modibbo Adama, a Fulani disciple of Usman Dan Fodio and the founder of the Adamawa Emirate. The emirate, which traces its origins back to 1809, is headquartered at Yola. The emirs are known by the traditional title of Baban-Lamido.

Adamawa State initially existed as part of the Northern Region in the three-region structure of 1954; it was then known as Adamawa Province.

In 1967, the military government of General Yakubu Gowon created twelve federal states and Adamawa became a part of North-Eastern State. With the creation of nineteen states in 1976 by the military government of General Murtala Muhammed, Adamawa became a part of Gongola State. In 1991, the military government of General Ibrahim Babangida divided Gongola State into Adamawa and Taraba states.

The main ethnic groups in Adamawa are the Fulani, Bwatiye, Chamba, Higgi, Mbula, Margi, KilbaGa'anda, Longuda, Kanakuru, Bille, Bura, Yandang, Yungur, Fali, Gude, Verre and Libo.

The state’s dominant religions are Islam and Christianity, although some of its inhabitants practise traditional religions.

Muhammadu Barkindo Aliyu Musdafa, Lamido of the Adamawa Emirate

Muhammadu Barkindo Aliyu Musdafa is the current Lamido of the Adamawa Emirate. He was turbanned on March 18, 2010.

Previous Emirs:

  • Modibbo Adama ben Hassan (1809 – 1848)
  • Lawalu ben Adama (1848 – 1872)
  • Sanda ben Adama (1872 – 1890)
  • Zubayru ben Adama (1890 – 1901)
  • Bibbo Ahmadu ben Adama (1901 – 1909)
  • Iya ben Sanda (1909 – 1910)
  • Muhammadu Abba (1910 – 1924)
  • Muhammadu Bello ben Ahmadu ben Hamidu ben Adamu (1924 – 1928)
  • Mustafa ben Muhammadu Abba (1928 – 1946)
  • Ahmadu ben Muhammadu Bello (1946 – 1953)
  • Aliyu Mustafa (1953 – 2010)
  • Muhammadu Barkindo Aliyu Musdafa (2010 – Present)

Picture source: Flickr - Alfred Weidinger