Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Benue State

Benue State

state tabs

Benue Youth Cultural Carnival, Makurdi

Benue State is one of the six states that make up Nigeria’s North Central geopolitical zone along with the Federal Capital Territory. It is located in the Middle Belt region of Nigeria and shares an international boundary with the Republic of Cameroon to the southeast and interstate boundaries with Nasarawa State to the north, Taraba State to the east, Enugu, Ebonyi and Cross River states to the south, and Kogi State to the west. Its capital is Makurdi.

Land Mass, Location, and Population
Benue State covers an area of 31,276.7 square kilometres. It lies at latitude 5°25’ north and longitude 7°30’ east. It has a population of 4,253,641 (2006 census figures) with a population density of 136 people per square kilometre. The state accounts for 3.03% of Nigeria’s total population.

Main Towns and Cities
Makurdi (capital city), Gboko, Otukpo, Katsina-Ala, Zaki Biam, Vandeikya, Obi, Okpokwu, and Ogbadibo