Discover Nigeria > States > FCT Abuja

FCT Abuja

state tabs

View of Abuja skyline with National Mosque and National Church of Nigeria

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) is part of the North Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria. It has interstate boundaries with Nasarawa State to the east and southeast, Niger State to the west and northwest, Kaduna State to the northeast, and Kogi State to the southwest. Its capital, Abuja, is also the capital of Nigeria.

Land Mass, Location, and Population
The Federal Capital Territory covers an area of 7,753.9 square kilometres. It lies at latitude 8°50’ north and longitude 7°10’ east. It has a population of 1,406,239 (2006 census figures) and a population density of 181 people per square kilometre. It accounts for 1% of Nigeria's total population.

Main Cities and Towns
Abuja (capital city), Abaji, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje, Kwali, and Lugbe

Image source: The Immanent Frame