Discover Nigeria > States > FCT Abuja

FCT Abuja

state tabs

Economic activity in the Federal Capital Territory is centred on agriculture. The area is predominantly savannah with sparse forests in its southern parts. Major crops grown in the FCT include millet, corn, sorghum, rice, yams, cassava, plantains, groundnuts and cowpeas. The commercial rearing of cattle, sheep, and goats is also an important economic activity. The main minerals found in the FCT are marble, tin, mica, clay, iron ore, gold, lead and talc.

The Federal Capital Territory has one federal university (University of Abuja) and four private universities (African University of Science & Technology, Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Baze University and Veritas University). It is also home to one private polytechnic (Dorben Polytechnic), one federal college of education (FCT College of Education) and a campus of the Nigerian Law School.

Abuja is the first Nigerian city to be built as a planned city.

Photo credit Rob Fisher