Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Gombe State

Gombe State

state tabs

Founded in 1804 by Buba Yero, also known as Abubakar, Gombe was a composite of the emirate in the Gombe North and the ethnic groups that resided in Gombe South. In 1824 the emirate headquarters was established at Gambe before being renamed Gombe Aba in 1841. The emirate enjoyed years of success and prosperity until wars and the encroachment of British rule precipitated its collapse in the early 20th Century. During this time the capital was moved to Doma which was then renamed Gombe. Gombe State was carved out of the old Bauchi State in October 1996 by the military government of Sani Abacha.

The main ethnic groups in Edo State are Edo (Bini), Esan, Afemai, Akoko Edo and Owan. There are 17 languages that are spoken in the state; the major ones are Edo, Ebira, Esan and Okpamheri. Though Hausa is the state’s common language there are 20 other languages spoken in the state. This diversity is also represented in the number of ethnic groups within the state. The Hausa, Tangale, Terawa, Waja, Kumo, Fulani, Kanuri, Bolewa, Jukun, Pero/Shonge, Tula, Cham, Lunguda, Dadiya, Banbuka and a few more all have roots in Gombe.

Alhaji Shehu Usman Abubakar was the eleventh Emir of Gombe. He ruled the ancient city of Gombe for thirty years from August 1984 to February 22 2015.