Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Imo State

Imo State

state tabs

Okigwe Road Roundabout, Owerri, Imo State

Imo State is one of the five states that make up Nigeria’s South East geopolitical zone. It shares borders with Rivers State to the south, Abia State to the east and northeast, and Anambra State to the west and northwest. Its capital is Owerri.

Land Mass, Location, and Population
Abia State covers an area of 5182.2 square kilometres. It lies at latitude 5°29’ north and longitude 7°2’ east. It has a population of 3,927,563 (2006 census figures) and a population density of 758 people per square kilometre. The state accounts for 2.8% of Nigeria's total population.

Main Cities and Towns
Owerri, Agu, Ideato, Mbaise, Mbieri, Mgbidi, Njaba, Nkwerre, Oguta, Okigwe, Orlu, Orodo, and Orsu

Picture by George Osodi