Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Kwara State

Kwara State

state tabs

Kwara is one of the six states that make up Nigeria’s North Central geopolitical zone along with the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). It shares an international boundary with the Republic of Benin to the west and interstate boundaries with Niger Stateto the north, Oyo State to the southwest, Osun and Ekiti states to the southeast, and Kogi State to the east. Its capital is Ilorin.

Land Mass, Location and Population
Kwara State covers an area of 34,467.5 square kilometres and lies at latitude 8°30’ north and longitude 5°00’ east. It has a population of 2,365,353 (2006 census figures) and accounts for 1.6% of the country’s total population.

Main Cities and Towns
Ilorin (capital city), Afon, Iponrin, Jebba, Kaiama, Lafiagi, lIoffa, lIota, Offa, Omu-Aran and Patigi

Image Source: kwara state tourism site