Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Lagos State

Lagos State

state tabs

National Theatre, Lagos, Nigeria

Lagos is one of the six states that make up Nigeria’s South West geopolitical zone. It shares an international boundary with the Republic of Benin to the southwest and an interstate boundary with Ogun State. The Bight of Benin lies to its south.

Land Mass, Location, and Population
Lagos is the smallest state in Nigeria geographically (with an area of 3,496.5 square kilometres, of which 75,755 hectares are wetlands). It lies at latitude 6°35' north and longitude 3°45' east. Lagos has a population of 9,113,605 according to the 2006 census (6.49% of the national total). The United Nations estimates that at its present growth rate, Lagos will be third largest mega-city in the world by 2015 after Tokyo in Japan and Mumbai (Bombay) in India Metropolitan Lagos, which accounts for 37 percent of the land area of Lagos State, is home to over 85 percent of its population.

Main Cities and Towns
Ikeja (capital), Agege, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Ikorodu, Ikotun, Ikoyi, Ipaja, Ogudu, Ojota, Oshodi, Victoria Island and Yaba

Photo credit: OrionPixels Photography