ZODML logo
Discover Nigeria > States > Ogun State

Ogun State

state tabs

Abeokuta, Ogun State

Ogun State is one of the six states that make up Nigeria’s South West geopolitical zone. It shares an international boundary with the Republic of Benin to the west and has interstate boundaries with Oyo State to the north, Lagos State to the south, and Ondo and Osun states to the east. Its capital is Abeokuta.

Land Mass, Location, and Population
Ogun State covers an area of 16,980.6 square kilometres. It lies at latitude 7°00’ north and longitude 3°35’ east. It has a population of  3,751,140 (2006 census figures) and a population density of 221 people per square kilometre. The state accounts for 2.67% of Nigeria's total population.

Main Towns and Cities
Abeokuta (capital city), Ijebu-Ode, Shagamu, Ilaro, Ijebu-Igbo, and Aiyetoro

Picture by Flickr user jbdodane