ZODML logo


Discover Nigeria > States > Osun State

Osun State

state tabs

The early settlers of Osun State were the Yoruba people. The state derives its name from the Osun River which flows through it. Osun State was originally part of the Western Region in the three-region structure of 1954. In 1967, with the creation of twelve federal states by General Yakubu Gowon's military government, Osun became part of Western State. The military government of General Murtala Muhammed created nineteen states out of the existing twelve in 1976 and Osun became part of Oyo State. In 1991, the military government of General Ibrahim Babangida divided Oyo into present-day Oyo and Osun states.

The main ethnic group in Osun State is the Yoruba people and Yoruba is the only indigenous language spoken in the state. Christianity and Islam are the main religions in Osun State, although a traditional religion is practised.

Prince Olayiwola Fatai Olagunju, known better as Fatai Rolling Dollar was a guitarist, percussionist, singer and songwriter. He popularised highlife music in Nigeria during the 1960s and 1970s and was described by the BBC as a "nationally celebrated performer.

Image Source: Nigeria Films