Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Plateau State

Plateau State

state tabs

Plateau State is located in Nigeria's middle belt and is one of the six states that make up the North Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria along with the Federal Capital Territory. It shares borders with Bauchi State to the northeast, Kaduna State to the northwest, Nasarawa State to the southwest and Taraba State to the southeast, and encloses the Jos Plateau (after which it is named) within its boundaries. Its capital is Jos.

Land Mass, Location and Population
With an area of 27,216 square kilometres, Plateau State has an estimated population of 3,206,531(2006 census figures). The State accounts for 2.3% of Nigeria's population. It is located at latitude 80o24’N and longitude 80o32’ and 100o38’E.

Main Cities and Towns
Jos, Bukuru, Barkin Ladi, Pankshin, Shendam, Langtang and Vom

Image Source: josaddress