Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Sokoto State

Sokoto State

state tabs

Sokoto is one of the seven states that form the North West geopolitical zone of Nigeria. It is bordered to the north by the Republic of Niger, Zamfara State to the east, and Kebbi State to the south and west. The city of Sokoto is its capital.

Land Mass, Location and Population
Sokoto State covers an area of 28,232.37 square kilometres. The state is located between latitudes 40 to 60 north and longitudes 110 to 130 east has a population of 3,702,676 (2006 census figures). It accounts for 2.3 percent of Nigeria's total population.


Main Cities and Towns
Sokoto (capital city), Wurno, Gwada-bawa, Yabo, Tambulwal, Ilela, Binji and Bogingo.