Home > Discover Nigeria > States > Zamfara State

Zamfara State

state tabs

Zamfara is one of the seven states that form the Northwest geopolitical zone of Nigeria. It shares an international border with the Republic of Niger to the north and interstate boundaries with Katsina State to the east, Sokoto State to the west, and Kebbi and Niger states to the south. Gusau is the state capital.

Land Mass, Location and Population
Zamfara covers an area of 35,711 square kilometres and lies at latitude 12° 10’ north and longitude 6° 15’ east. Its population is approximately 3,278,873 (2006 census figures) and it has a population density of 92 people per square kilometre. The population of Zamfara State is 2.3% of Nigeria’s population.


Main Cities and Towns
Gusau (capital city), Kaura Namoda and Anka