Discover Nigeria > States > Borno State

Borno State

state tabs

Borno is one of the six states that form the North East geopolitical zone of Nigeria. It shares international borders to the north with Niger and Chad, as well as with Cameroon to the east. Its southern and western borders are shared with Adamawa, Gombe and Yobe states. Maiduguri is its capital.

Land Mass, Location and Population
Borno State has an area of 75,540.9 square kilometres. It lies roughly at latitude 11°30’ north and longitude 13°00’ east. Its population is 4,171,104 (2006 census figures) with a population density of 60 people per square kilometre. It accounts for approximately 3 percent of Nigeria’s total population.

Main Cities and Towns
Maiduguri (capital city), Biu, Bama and Dikwa.

What Do You Think? Share Your Comment Below