Skip to main content
Light of the Nation
*Population: 4,177,828 (2006 census) 5,527,809 (2016 forecast) - 10th of 37
*Percentage of Nigeria’s total population: 2.97%
*Population density: 862 - 2nd of 37
*Landmass: 4, 843.2 sq km (1,870 sq mi) - 36th of 37
*Internally Generated Revenue: N28, 009,906, 580.48 (2020)
**State capital: Awka
**Local Government Areas: 21
**Current Governor: Willie Obiano (All Progressives Grand Alliance)
**Governor-elect: Charles Soludo (All Progressives Grand Alliance)
*National Bureau of Statistics
**Anambra State Government


Anambra State is one of the five states that make up the South-East geopolitical zone of Nigeria. It has interstate boundaries with Delta State to the West, Imo and Rivers States to the South, Enugu State to the East, and Kogi State to the North. It derives its name from the Anambra River, a tributary of the River Niger. The state capital is Awka.


Anambra State covers an area of 4,816.2 square kilometres. It lies at latitude 6°20’ North and longitude 7°00’ East. It has a population of 4,177,828 (2006 census) 5,527, 809 (2016 forecast) and a population density of 862. The state accounts for 2.97% of Nigeria's total population.


The early settlers of Anambra State were the Igbo people. Archaeological discoveries of intricate works of art in bronze and other metals at Igbo-Ukwu point to the existence of a developed ancient civilisation. There are also a number of Igala people who live in the state’s Northwest.
Anambra State was originally part of the Eastern region in the three region structure of 1954. In 1967, with the creation of twelve federal states by General Yakubu Gowon's military government, it became a part of the East-Central State. In 1976, the East Central State was divided into Anambra and Imo States by General Murtala Muhammed’s military government. 
In 1991, General Ibrahim Babangida’s military government increased the number of states to twenty-seven; Enugu State, one of the new ones, was carved out of Anambra State.
Christianity is the dominant religion in Anambra State, although a number of its inhabitants practise traditional religion.


Awka (capital), Abagana, Igbo-Ukwu, Ihiala, Nkpor, Nnewi, Okija, Onitsha, Otu-ocha and Umunya.