Home > Blog > 2014 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature Longlist Announced

2014 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature Longlist Announced

By ZODML on 16 Jul, 2014
2013 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature winner Tade Ipadeola at the ZODML Community Library


The longlist for the 2014 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature has been announced. 11 writers made the list, which was presented by Professor Charity Angya, Vice-Chancellor of Benue State University and chairperson of this year's panel of judges, which includes Professor Ahmed Yerima of Redeemer’s University, and Professor Akanji Nasiru of Bowen University.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature was established by Nigeria LNG Limited as part of their corporate citizenship programme and commitment to the development of Nigerian society. Its advisory board includes Professors Ayo BanjoJerry Agada, and Ben Elugbe. The Prize is awarded annually and rotates between four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year's focus was drama, and the list of 11 was drawn from a total of 124 entries. The longlisted authors and plays are:

  • John Friday AbbaAlekwu Night Dance
  • Patrick Ogbe Adaofuyi - Canterkerous Passengers
  • Soji Cole - Maybe Tommorrow
  • Paul Edema - A Plague of Gadflies
  • Jude Idada - Oduduwa, King of the Edos
  • Onshore Ruth Momodu - No Fault of Mine
  • Attah Isaac Ogezi - Under a Darkling Sky
  • Julie Okoh - Our Wife Forever
  • Ade Solanke - Pandora’s Box
  • Arnold Udoka - Akon
  • Sam Ukala - Iredi War

The shortlist of three playwrights will be announced in September, and the winner of the $100,000 prize in October. Previous winners of the prize include Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo in 2007 for children's literaure, Chika Unigwe in 2012 for prose fiction, and Tade Ipadeola in 2013 for poetry. Congrats to all!

About the Author